Thursday, 25 May 2006

Looking...

Looking forward to seeing this, maybe in Kuala Lumpur (or KL as it's known to cool people)

Sorry, bloggage difficulties...Anyway, here we go!

Viggo!

I saw this but it was wrapped in a plastic bag so no more pics...Ahhh!

Malaysia - great or what?

We're now in Malaysia and it's absolutely fab!!! Having the best time. Arrived a few days ago and this is what we've discovered:

Great food

Great people (everyone is friendly/smiley, have been undercharged in restaurants twice already just cos they're being nice)

Great weather (hot and sunny, dry lovely heat, ooohhh!)

Great shopping (they have markets AND shops!)

Great food (oh, did I say that one already. We've been eating off of banana leaves! How cool is that?!!)

Buses are cheap and easy

Their language is very much like "malenglish", like ice cream is ais krem, etc etc.

The list goes on!

 

Monday, 22 May 2006

Dolphins, Monkeys and last day in Thailand

Went on our island tour - woooow!! Lots of snorkelling and fun! Saw Maya Bay in Phi Phi Ley, the beach where they shot The Beach, stunning indeed. We didn't have the best weather, the heavens opened a few times, but we just didn't mind, it was just magical anyway. Saw so many cool fish too : )

Just about survived the speedboat journey out there, just a few waves and our il capitano just wanted us to get there as quickly as possible! So thoughtful of him really!

Oh, we saw some dolphins on the way back too!! Cooolta!!!!

 

Right now we're in Hat Yai, more or less on the Malaysian border - which is where we'll be heading first thing in the morning. Off to the Perinthian Islands and won't be available for internet or the like for a week or so.. Do they even have electrics there, just don't know : ) Think not!

 

Saw a load of wild monkeys today. We went off to Songkhla today, beachy place. All of a sudden there were monkeys everywhere! Uuuuhh! Weird!! Never seen them like that before. Seems like our tour is turning out to be like something off the National Geographics!

Saturday, 20 May 2006

Clown fish! Lots!

Ooohhh! We saw a whole family of Clown fish when we were snorkelling yesterday! So lucky!! Aren't they the cutest thing??

Thursday, 18 May 2006

Krabi

Had a bit of a look around town today. Not rained as much as yesterday, thinking and hoping to be able to get out to the islands tomorrow. Found a tour we really liked and found a place where they'll sell it to us pretty cheaply too! Score! Got a free coffee icecream shake from the old man there too, so you know, have to go with them really! Did a little bit of shopping too today, bought a bag and a head scarf. Need to get stuff like long skirts and stuff to cover up for Malaysia and Indonesia, great excuse for shopping really. Still don't know what to wear for Sez's wedding. Please email me cool pics of dresses and stuff. Ems, I'm counting on you!

What do I miss... Oh, H&M, Primark, Topshop, Bershka, Urban Outfitters, Borders, Miss Selfridges, Sainsburys...The list goes on... I think I'm a bit of a saddo.. Need a good market here to get over my needs!!!

Wednesday, 17 May 2006

Our Beach

Deserted! All to ourselves!

Koh Tao - Diving, Sharks and Island Life

OK, so what exactly were we up to in Koh Tao??! Well, firstly we did the scuba diving, it was the coolest thing we've done so far I think! It was so much better than I hoped for. The whole theory was a bit boring at times, but the instructors were quite entertaining which helped! Anne, a Danish lassie was looking after us lot, and she was a bit mad (very much like my mates at home), but I think she had lost the ability to chat outside of the whole scuba thing, just a diver thing though! The only cure being leaving the whole scene!

We saw loads of lovely things down under, Sea snakes (very rare, we saw lots, Col is very good at spotting them), Butterfly fish, Angel fish, Bat fish, Banner fish, Clown fish (Nemo!), Trigger fish (aggressive lot!) and lots lots more! Had a wicked time! "For Sure"! "Baby"! Heheheh!!

 

Missed Eric's gig in Koh Samui, might not get to see the great Loso in action now...Grr...!! Think we just need to buy a CD and rock out that way! Maybe we'll get to see the man one day!

Then we missed Fullmoon Party over at Koh Panyan as Col managed to get another bad belly (not sure if it was the porridge fest or what)... Were meant to meet up with Alex and Mike, would have been so cool, but will just have to catch up with them back home. If there's a wedding we better be there ; )

Soooo, the last few days we spent trying to catch sight of some sharks. We stayed in a little bay called Chalok Baan Kao at a place called Tropicana, beautiful!! Luxury! Around the next bay was Shark Bay, we went snorkelling there sooo many times but saw nothing!! Argh! A bit disappointing! I wanna swim with sharks! OK, just have to hope there'll be more sharks!

 

Left Koh Tao yesterday morning. Were woken up at 4am by lightening and thunder and the loudest rain. It poured down all morning. Had booked ticket all the way to Krabi... Had to use 11 modes of transport to get here...! 11!!! A little unbelieveable!!! I reckon that's about 9 more than normal! Hahah! We made it though! Oh, one of my bag straps snapped off too! Just shows how heavy my bag has become! Need to get a tailor to fix it for me... Just got caught in the rain though, monsoon season and all that... Can see the sun peeking through now though so time to make a move I think! Gonna get some pics on here first me thinks! Will try to make you a little jealous!xx

Friday, 12 May 2006

Koh Tao Diving Masters Oh Yeah!

Just to let you all know - we're still alive and can now call ourselves PADI Open Water Divers and are allowed to sink as far down as 18 meters, and still be happy!! Had the bestest time, met lots of lovely peeps, shoutout to Mark, Alex and Mike - you cool dudes/dudette!

Will write more when internet is slightly better, not just a wire attached to a tree, you know what island life is like!

xxx

Thursday, 4 May 2006

Drinking with Walkernites

Had a few great days! Met up with Eric and Chris, went out for a beerfest! Col got his Strongbow too, so extra pleased! Ended up going to 'one of those shows' too, heheh! Well, I was expecting bottle-opening dart throwers, but, no, not this night! Maybe next time! Well, next time will be ladyboys I hope! I think the place was called Cowboys and is featured in Bridget Jones? Don't remember that part though! It's like we're following the film trail at the moment! Sorry, no photos allowed!

 

Was a tad hungover the following morning... We had to get up at 6am and were both still drunk. Travelled for almost 3 hours towards Burma to visit the Tiger temple and see the River Kwai and the famous bridge. Got to go on the Death Railway for an hour too, the scenery was amazing (I was feeling pretty damn shit though!)

 

Got our ticket sorted for Koh Tao for the morning! Wohoo!! Diving course starts tomorrow I think! Ended up booking it with Easy Divers, got a pretty great deal.

 

Check out the new pics, got some great ones of us almost being tiger lunch : )

 

 

Monday, 1 May 2006

So far...

OK,  now with our circle of the northern part of our trip done and dusted, we're looking into the whole scuba diving thing in Koh Tao. If anyone has any knowledge of good companies to learn with, let me know! We're doing as much research as poss, but they all sound great on paper (of course).

 

Siem Reap and Angkor Wat was a real treat. It so massive and incredibly stunning. We never went for the whole sunrise/sunset thing, just did what we fancied. Saw Angkor Wat of course, then Ta Prohm (where Tomb Raider was filmed, or parts anyway), and finally onto Angkor Thom and Bayon. I'd highly recommend all these places. And I know just the guy to take you around on his tuk-tuk!

 

Off to meet up with a guy called Eric from Walkern (!) sometime before we head off though. Hope to get to see some sights of Bangkok you only discover when living here! Should be really cool.

 

Birthday wishes to Bobby in Sydney (still 21?) and to Nads in Seville - feliz navidad : )

Have a drink on us!xx

Bangkok again

Arrived back in Bangkok late last night, it was like dejavu really. Staying in the same hotel as before, got a pretty nice room but it's a little hot in the morning!

Yesterdays marathon journey is going down in the books as one of the worst. Had to wait for a bus at the border for 3 hours, and that's after sitting in a minibus bouncing up and down for almost 6 hours! Met some nice Swedes to chat to which made it easier!

Chilling out today and topping up on our food as only had sarnies yesterday!

Oh, it's good to be back in Bangkok!

Cream anyone?

If anyone needs this let me know and I'll pick some up! Hmmmm!