Had a bit of a hard time getting up in the morning. Didn't get much sleep as our neighbours are a live venue and a crappy band started playing very loudly at 1am... The worst version of Smoke on the water I've ever come cross..! And I've heard some crap in my days!
Anyway, had to get up at 7.30am (good god!!), got ready, had porridge for brekkie and waited for our lift. Ended up at another guest house where we signed in and got into a pick up truck with a couple of Americans, Israeli, a Norweigan (Pia, the only normal one) and a Brit and his Thai bride...
Drove off to see the Long necks firstly. They were so pretty in their neck rings, but it was all a little weird. Our guide Moon couldn't really tell us a great deal about them,except they came from Burma and as they're not in Thailand on a legal basis they're not allowed to leave the camp. We did feel for them, felt like they were in a zoo... As the others in the group went off to ride the elephants, we had our lunch. Then hung around for a while, then hung around for a while, then hung around for a while longer (just in case really). Asked them about the caves we were supposed to see... They said 1/2 hour... As the others came back and had lunch, you guessed it, we hung around for a while longer. As we were leaving we asked again if we were going to the caves and just got the reply "maybe tomorrow" and just knew we lost out on that one!
Eventually we reached another camp where the other 2-dayers were waiting for us (expecting us to be Dutch). Considering they thought it was our fault they had had to hang around all morning and lunch time waiting for us, they gave us a warm welcoming and the trip could really start.
No comments:
Post a Comment